Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Ley Hill app


1st XI - Match centre

Ley Hill
Fri 20 Jul 18:00 - Cup Start time 18:00



Braywood 165-6; Ley Hill 99-10

This was the League Final of the Chiltern League’s evening knock-out competition, played in the (nowadays) unusual 8 ball over format. (A quick look at the current Laws of Cricket, for example, reveals no mention of 8 ball overs in the modern version). The final was kindly hosted by Coleshill Cricket Club who gave both teams and their supporters a warm welcome.

The toss was won by Braywood who elected to bat, but were reeling after just 2 overs with the loss of one of their openers (Dad) for just 5 runs. The other opener (Raza – 15 runs) and number 3 batter Khan (48 runs not out) soon got into their stride however and together with Sultan (10 runs) and Mushtaq (3 runs) took the score on to 74. Then captain Satti joined Khan at the wicket and proved to be almost invincible – he scored 64 runs off just 23 balls, including 4 fours and 6 sixes before being caught by Scott Peterson off the bowling of Chris Morris. Braywood 145-5. The 15 x 8 ball over innings was almost complete however and with a final flurry from Khan and his new partner (Uddin 7 runs – who came to the wicket following the running-out of Saleem for a duck), Braywood ended up on 165-6. Best bowling from Ley Hill came from Chris Morris, who took 3 wickets for 29 runs from 4 overs.

Ley Hill stand-in skipper Ben Moultrie-Ford opened the batting with himself and Richard Clarke. Ford went for 17 and Clarke for 14. Ley Hill 60-2. Never mind. Plenty of batting to come. Lewis Thompson posted the highest score for Ley Hill of 21 runs, but the only other batter to reach double figures turned out to be all-rounder (no longer just a bowler!) Chris Morris with 14. The remaining 7 batters surrendered their wickets for a combined total of just 17 runs and Ley Hill were all out for 99. Best bowling figures came from Khan who took 4 for 18 from just 3 overs.

A full scorecard for this match can be found if you navigate to “Information – Documents – Score Cards”.

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments


Club sponsors